06.May.2001

Bjork

--

it's not meant to be a struggle up here



I am going to give my two cents on Bjork's new album, due out in August.

Very immaculate, clean, crisp, virginal, not as electronic as she used to be. She is aging and she is madly in love. If you are looking for the broody electronic crackle of Homogenic or even Post, you won't find it. This entire album, Vespertine, is pretty much like a continuation of the album version of 'All is Full of Love', clear, hallow in sound, Bjorky in lyrics like "the kindness kind" and "my mother and son put there in me". Incidently, she adopts a full orchestra and a choir for this album, which adds a kind of pure touchingness to it. So, there we are. I will purchase it, so should you.

But that's because I'm kind of light and airy today, and I won't say love.



--

time & machine

in ;; a ;; world ;; of ;; wire