25.Nov.2002

singledom abounds

--

disembowel



"So, you broke up with your boyfriend?"
"Yes."
"Something you want to talk about?"
"Well, no, not really, not much to say, other than the fact he was extremely possessive and fuck-all if I can't take a bath for an hour."
"That's all you really need to say about it."

Carissa works the tanning department and the robotics department of Tan and Tone America, and she's about one of the most dominant females I've ever had the pleasure to encounter. She is happily married and said, "You're at that age where you'll probably end up finding that one for you incredibly soon."

I wanted to say, "You're basing this on the fact you met what'shisname and now you guys are happily married." but instead I said, "I appreciate your optimism."

And:

"I really don't want to settle anywhere. I want to go traveling. I want to tour the world. I have this entire universe in front of me and eventually will have all the funds together so I can, in fact, explore history and lick it firsthandedly, and I never really see myself settling anywhere."
She said, "Yeah, but he will want to go with you." We're talking proverbials here.
"I'm sure he would."
"Well, what do you think?"

I didn't know there was such a thing as a bonafide age where we meet the person that is right for us and begin contemplating settling down. That's a traditional yet naive perspective.

I have a bunch of really perfect moments in the back of my mind that I conjure when the windows in this kitchen start to steam.

"You ever date a guy with a sinewy neck?"

Yes, Angela. All the time.

All. The. Time.

--

time & machine

in ;; a ;; world ;; of ;; wire