22.Oct.2003

striped knee socks!

--

hot pink biker shorts! greed! glamour! glitter! a flock of seagulls!



I'm watching I Love the 80s on VH1.

I am currently an extremely happy little bubbly-faced dumpling.

--

The Day After was based on Pat Frank's Alas, Babylon. Though it was years later that I watched the film, it still managed to depress the utter emotional pandemonium out of me.

--

To celebrate the perpetual 80s bash in my head, I am spending the night with Duran Duran, Echo and the Bunnymen, Gary Numan, Ultra Vox, Thomas Dolby, Falco, Talking Heads, Roxy Music, et al.

Echo and the Bunnymen are re-releasing their first five albums on the 3rd of November; their debut album, Crocodiles, will be celebrated with a 25th anniversary tour. My heart will always belong to Ocean Rain, specifically "Nocturnal Me", and my heart belongs to other unmentionable entities.

--

Jason, my musical comrade for life, left the following message in a poor British accent on my voice-mail:

"Hi, good evening. This is Thom Yorke here, and, hello ... I was just in the neighborhood, and I've got Alan Wilder, Dave Gahan, and Christian Slater circa 1987 in the car here with me. We were all driving around with nothing to do, and thought we would stop by your place so we could all have sex with you at the same time, but since you're not there, we'll just drive around until we can find something else."

The only normal voice-mails I receive come from Jubal, who somehow finds it in his best interest to describe himself as "just Jubal" when he deigns to leave me a message.

I'm always on the other end of the line, hours later, muttering, "Just Jubal?" whilst subsequently kicking myself for missing his sporadic calls.

Both of them do not understand why I used to wear stirrup pants and frolic to Dead or Alive's "You Spin Me Round (Like a Record)".

On second thought, neither do I ...

--

time & machine

in ;; a ;; world ;; of ;; wire