24.Feb.2001

Rinoa Soybean Rhapsody

--

The Goth Thing Gets a Dog



I will kill you! With cuteness!Rinoa happened by destiny, I think. For the last week and a half, I was adamant on getting a puppy ("a little brown one!" I exclaimed to Joe), and as the hours progressed, the adamacy became obsession. I had checked through the Duluth News Tribune Classifieds for animals, but the tiny ones (Joe wanted a tiny one -- this place isn't quite large enough for a big dog, like say a graceful German Shep) were about $300 - $400.
For ten seconds, I contemplated whoring.
I had no idea there was a city ordinance that forbade the selling of dogs and cats; I discovered this the difficult and abashed way. At a loss, I checked back to the Classifieds and found the advert "Shar Pei/Lab puppies, free".
I knew this had to be the one. After ringing the woman, whose name was Trina, hesitantly and asking if there were any more dogs available, she said that yes, in fact, there were 2 remaining, and they were female. After about ten minutes of imploring, nay, demanding Joe that we drive an hour and a half to Wright, MN to look at the dogs, we were in the car, ready to leave.
By this time I was antsy.
Now, I can't describe the feeling of wanting an immature animal in one's holding; it must be like the couples who, for some reason, wake up one morning and decide to spawn. As spawning used to be for survival purposes way back when, it has now become more of an accessory. At least, this is how I felt a few years ago.
We finally found the house in Wright, MN, which is a small town of about 144 people. I have aversions to metal objects and small towns. Minnesota in February is cold; puppies shouldn't be out in the cold, hence we brought a blanket in case we decided to take one of the pups.
It was decided the moment we stepped through the door.
She, being nameless at the time, was bouncing around in a very black Lab kind of way, and she seemed to form a bond with Joe immediately. It was decided. We were going to become parents of this wrinkly Shar Pei/Lab canine that danced to techno music and chewed on the digital camera cords.
We wrapped her up and took her to the car, where she then fell asleep in my lap, and it was love at first snore.
That night, while curled up on the dilapidated double bed that barely cradles our fleshy bodies, Rinoa cuddled up into my armpit and tried to bite my nipple. It was precious. I dreamed her name should be Rinoa Soybean Rhapsody, and it became so.
The next day, we took her to Joe's mother's house and more love was to be fallen in.
Now if we could only get Kitty and Soybean to at least stomach each other in the same room without bearing teeth and unsheething claws, I could be happier.
That is, of course, not to imply I'm not pretty damn happy already.

--

time & machine

in ;; a ;; world ;; of ;; wire