02.Apr.2003

we are accidents waiting to happen

--

there, there



Dustin has invited me out to a club on Thursday night, in which I will be subjected to his singing; I have not quite been privy to his singing before, but some of the genres of music in which he delights rub my aural wires to the point of subtle irritation.

I am a lyrical and musical person, and both of them fail when it comes to some of his tastes. That is to say, we share a common interest with others.

One early, Sunday afternoon, I unfurled from his blankets and blinked supinely at his spine; he turned his head and mentioned something about Skinny Puppy. I lethargically mentioned my affinity for The Legendary Pink Dots, at which point he rummaged through his dilapidated CD holder and handed me Faces in the Fire.

In Oklahoma, this is a rarity. Dustin is not from Oklahoma, however.

He was listening to Tool's live rendition of "Push It"; when he left the bedroom, I, with my infinite obsessive-compulsive disorder with all things musical, repeated it until I knew innately my memory would not fail me on the car-ride home. In the comfort of the living room, I constructed an acoustic piano version I have yet to give him.

His mother and I share the same birthday, and I have plans to purchase something for her. She is wont to be a rather demulcent, understanding sort, and at one evening when I was more than famished, she cooked me dinner. I have every means with which to return the favor.

I love his mother. She divulged that she considers me to be one of her own. She is the type of person around which I can extinguish any luminescent neurosis I'm currently harboring sans initial, mental grappling. This is refreshing, to say the least.

--

I'm never aware of what will make me nervous. As the mood fluctuates, what would normally slam anxiety into my tiny head shifts, and I'm confident. Being bi-polar is being on both sides of the spectrum nearly synchronously.

--

I never say "spectrum" when I'm describing music; I always say "spectra".

--

The Canvas turns 23 today. To celebrate through the wires, I delivered to him a manga-infused birthday card.

--

I dreamed about my son; I don't have a son.

--

It seems an astounding shame to still be inside when the weather is this fuck-worthy.

--

I over-heard my father once say this about me:
"She's not an idiot; she's just one of those scary, art types."

--

I am cycling my arms toward the proximate sunrise and goading it with inextricable aplomb, while my ears throb against all things lit and pop-touched.

Bring me the motherfucking sun, little darling.

--

time & machine

in ;; a ;; world ;; of ;; wire