03.Sep.2002

quiet

--

quiet



Jason once sent me a musical sample of a piece he was working on entitled "quiet". I find myself longing for longer evenings with that attached to it. I listen to it to drown out the noise in my head.

You want silence. I want to bring it to you. Outside of this realm lies a universe calmly above the chaos. Outside of this realm lies a universe beneath the tidal waves, serene, constant, lush, silent.

Palos Verdes, California can be described as the universe above the chaos. In order to get there, however, you have to drive through the chaos. But the view from the top is otherworldly if only for 10 perfect minutes.

Sleep comes only when the sun is present, when it's impossible to sleep because of the constant, methodical noise of human existence, but I have moments of quiet. I find myself rushing toward them when the day begins to dissolve. I should be sleeping but it's the only time I have retained for myself.

Everyone wants to break free from the noise, everyone wants to stretch on the hood of that car overlooking the distant highway underneath the stars, with peacefully introspective, flowing music. I find myself endeavoring to re-attain that magic, and soon it will become reality.

And I wish I could take you with me.

--

time & machine

in ;; a ;; world ;; of ;; wire